If you have a fire or water emergency, please call us now at (610) 327-9644

To have the optimal experience while using this site, you will need to update your browser. You may want to try one of the following alternatives:

Fire & Water - Cleanup & Restoration

Different Categories and classes of water damage.

3/30/2022 (Permalink)

ceiling leak Taking a look at a ceiling leak.

One of the most common property damages that may occur is caused by water. It’s one of the most popular reasons for home insurance claims. I’ll go over the different categories and classes, so you have a better understanding of different kind of damages.

 What are the categories of water?

The IICRC classifies water into three categories, and they pertain to the ranges of the contamination, after finding the water source and its quality after it goes through your property.

 Category 1 – Sanitary Clean Water

Sanitary water refers to the water that does not pose substantial risk from dermal, ingestion, or inhalation exposure. Essentially the purest kind of water, it’s also describing water with a small amount of contamination in it.  

 Category 2 – Significant Contaminated Grey Water

This type of water falls in the middle of the contamination levels in the IICRC standards. Contains significant contamination and has the potential to cause discomfort or sickness if contracted or consumed by humans.

Wastewater and diluted sewage would be considered a category 2.

 Category 3 – Grossly Contaminated Black Water

The IICRC defines it as water that contains persistent or non-volatile contaminants. Black water is the most contaminated water of the three.

Contamination can occur from many sources, including but not limited to:

  • Bacteria
  • Organic contaminants
  • Microbial growth
  • Industrial processes
  • Fecal matter
  • Insect Larva
  • Heavy metals

 What are the classes of water?

This refers to how wet an area, room, or structure have become.

 Class 1

 The least amount of water absorption. Water intrusion of less than 5 % of the area.

 Class 2

Significant amount of water absorption. Water intrusion of between 5% and 40% of the area.

 Class 3

Greatest about of water absorption. Water intrusion of more than 40% of the area.

 Class 4

Deeply held or bound water. Water intrusion involves a significate amount of water absorption. Drying may require special methods, and longer drying times.

The type of water category may change over time and can cause damage to your home or property, and the level of contamination in the water can also affect your property and your health.

If you suspect there is a leak of any category or class, reach out to us as at 610-327-9644 soon as possible for an inspection. 

Other News

View Recent Posts